The Cathedral Range: Project Yosemite’s Favorite Spots

cockscomb_1

In an ongoing series, we’ll feature the favorite Yosemite places of filmmakers Sheldon Neill and Colin Delehanty, the creators of the stunning Yosemite HD time-lapse video that became a runaway favorite online with over 3 million views on Vimeo.

The Story

Colin: “After capturing sunset from the summit of Cockscomb Peak Sheldon and I prepared for a night under the stars at 11,000 ft. We had hiked all day into the heart of the Cathedral Range to this spot and planned to stay for sunrise. As the last bit of light faded from the sky so did our view of neighboring peaks such as Echo Peaks, Cathedral Peak and Matthes Crest.

Following dinner we emerged from our warm sleeping bags to setup a few timelapses that would last a couple hours. As I setup my shot it was easy to forget where I was. My eyes had adjusted to the extreme brightness of my headlamp narrowing my vision down to a few feet. I couldn’t wait to see what was out there. I pointed my camera in the direction of the Milky Way, set focus and fired. 20 seconds later an image popped up on my camera LCD. In it I could see Matthes Crest standing there under the Milky Way. It was magic! In that moment I felt so much excitement. I still can’t believe that its possible to capture images like that.”

cockscomb_2

Sheldon Neill and Colin Delehanty of Project Yosemite

Sheldon Neill and Colin Delehanty of Project Yosemite

The Cathedral Range is south of Tuolumne Meadows in Yosemite National Park. Though formed by glaciation, the very top of the peaks in this range rose above the highest level of the glaciers, where they didn’t suffer the same erosion processes as the valley below. Lack of glacial erosion contributes to their spire-like appearance and consequent name.

Read more about Colin, Sheldon and Project Yosemite.

We’re collecting more pictures and stories about favorite Yosemite spots. Keep checking back for more.

One comment on “The Cathedral Range: Project Yosemite’s Favorite Spots

  1. Pingback: The Cathedral Range: Project Yosemite’s Favorite Spots - Shawn E. Bell

Leave a Reply

