Cloud’s Rest: Project Yosemite’s Favorite Spots

clouds_rest_1

In an ongoing series, we’ll feature the favorite Yosemite places of filmmakers Sheldon Neill and Colin Delehanty, the creators of the stunning Yosemite HD time-lapse video that became a runaway favorite online with over 3 million views on Vimeo.

The Story

Colin: “Of all the places I visited Cloud’s Rest offered the most spectacular panoramic view of Yosemite National Park. I didn’t know which direction to point my camera when I reached its summit. While up there I was constantly shooting time lapse. I arrived at sunset and continued shooting all through the night as the Milky Way rose followed by the sun. I decided that morning I had enough food and water to stay up there for another sunset. I spent the day taking naps and trying to match peaks I saw off in the distance to those marked on my map. As sunset approached I readied my camera equipment and slid the last memory card into the camera. As the sun dipped lower over the horizon the sky transformed. First the sky changed from blue to yellow then a deep orange and finally the darkest red I’d ever seen. I couldn’t believe it. “

Sheldon Neill and Colin Delehanty of Project Yosemite

Sheldon Neill and Colin Delehanty of Project Yosemite

At an elevation of 9926 feet, Cloud’s Rest not only provides some of the most spectacular views of Yosemite, you can even look down on Half Dome from the summit! This massive granite formation is known to most park visitors as the backdrop at Olmsted Point on the Tioga Road. Making the hike to the summit will also provide views of the Clark Range, the Cathedral Range and Matterhorn Peak. One of the finest specimens of Yosemite’s glacial geology, the Cloud’s Rest Northwest Face is a stunning 5000 foot drop into Tenaya Canyon in Yosemite Valley. You can access the trail to Cloud’s Rest from both the Tioga Road (Hwy 120) and from Yosemite Valley at Happy Isles.

Read more about Colin, Sheldon and Project Yosemite.

We’re collecting more pictures and stories about favorite Yosemite spots. Keep checking back for more.

Leave a Reply

